New 7 Wonders of The World – No. 3 Statue of Christ the Redeemer

Christ the Redeemer is a statue of Jesus Christ in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. And was considered the largest Art Deco statue in the world from 1931 until 2010 when it was topped by the Christ the King statue in Poland. It is 98 ft tall, not including its 26 ft pedestal, and its arms stretch 92 ft wide. It weighs 625 long, 700 short tons, and is located at the peak of the 2,300 ft Corcovado Mountain in the Tijuca Forest National Park overlooking the city. A symbol of Brazilian Christianity, the statue has become an icon for Rio de Janeiro and Brazil.


Here are some interesting facts about “Brazil statue of Christ the Redeemer”

1) The concept behind the statue was very first proposed in the middle of the 1850’s when a Catholic Priest by the name of Pedro Maria Boss requested money to construct a religious monument inside the city. And was dismissed so the monument wasn’t developed. In 1921 a monument was proposed once again by the Catholic Circle of Rio. They appealed to the public for support and donations to have something developed to represent the religious strength in Brazil.

2) Christ the Redeemer statue is a globally recognized symbol for peace. This wonderful statue took nine years for it to be finished, and is made from reinforced concrete and the outside is made of soapstone. These components were chosen for the Rio de Janeiro statue on account of their durable qualities and how easy they are to work with.

3) The overall design and style of the statue was produced by a French sculptor. The general cost of the statue was the equivalent of $250,000 today. In 1980 Pope John Paul II was scheduled to visit the Rio de Janeiro statue and major restoration was undertaken. In 2003 escalators and elevators were developed in order for people to get access to the viewing platform without being so complicated to get a great view.

4) In 2008 very strong lightning struck the monument creating damage to the fingers, eyebrows and head. Work was started to restore these issues with the statue, and some of the soapstone was removed and replaced. The lightning rods also had to be repaired as a result of the lightning damage. The last restoration in 2010 concentrated on preserving the interior of Cristo Redentor. All of the stone that was used in the restoration was taken away from the quarry that the original pieces had been from. An amazing lighting system was also set up to light up the base from the monument, which is a great addition.

5) In 2010 a senseless vandal spray painted the Rio de Janeiro statue. The mayor declared it a crime against the nation, and a reward was offered to catch the vandal. Cristo Redentor was voted as one of the New Wonders Of The World in 2007, and has been seen in a lot of films and documentaries for many years. At 38 meters tall and weighing 1.145 tonnes there is no doubt that this breathtaking monument is among the most remarkable man-made structures on earth.

Travelers travel from different countries to visit this place. Millions of tourist comes to visit this place every year. If you thinking about to take a trip to this wonderful place call us toll free @877-247-7183 and our travel experts will be happy to help you. Also you can check our all deals and discounts at:

New 7 Wonders of The World

In the period of more than 125 years from the beginning of the 19th century, the creations of some of the world’s most remarkable adventures were identified. These are popularly known as great wonders of the world. These are the symbols of human creativity and the determination of the human spirit.


Ancient Seven Wonders: – In the beginning idea of Seven Wonders of the World occurred earlier during Herodotus (484 BC – 425 BC) and Callimachus (305 BC – 240 BC). According to their analysis, Seven Wonders of the World included
• The Great Pyramid of Giza
• Hanging Gardens of Babylon
• Statue of Zeus at Olympia
• Temple of Artemis at Ephesus
• Mausoleum of Maussollos at Halicarnassus
• Colossus of Rhodes
• Lighthouse of Alexandria

Among all of them, only the Great Pyramid of Giza still exists. The other six were ruined by earthquake, fire, or other causes.

New Seven Wonders: - The new seven Wonders Foundation claimed that more than 100 million votes were cast through the Internet or by telephone. This campaign was originated in 2000 by Swiss film producer, author and aviator Bernard Weber to choose the seven new wonders of the world through the global voting campaign. The organizers had said that the competition is not planned to replace the Ancient Seven Wonders, but to care for other historical landmarks and improve global cultural heritage awareness.

In the year 2001 a Swiss Corporation, New Open World Corporation started the process of selecting New Seven Wonders of the World. Finally on January 1, 2006 after studying and analyzing several criteria, it announced 21 finalists from nearly 200 nominations from around the world. One among them, The Great Pyramids of Giza in Egypt was designated as an honorary celebratory wonder. From the remaining 20, seven sites were selected by worldwide vote, through Internet and phone polling. Finally, on 07/07/07(July 07, 2007 a very special day) seven new wonders of the world were declared in a grand ceremony in Lisbon.

The final poll produced this list of the world’s top human-built wonders
• Great Pyramids of Giza in Egypt(Honorary Candidate)
• The Great Wall of China
• Petra in Jordan
• Brazil’s statue of Christ the Redeemer
• Peru’s Machu Picchu
• Mexico’s Chichen Itza pyramid
• The Colosseum in Rome
• India’s Taj Mahal

Online voting and SMS system were used for the first time to select New Seven Wonders of the World. In further section we are going to explain the history of all these Wonders one by one.