New 7 Wonders of the World – Great Pyramids of Giza in Egypt

The Great Pyramids of Giza are part of the Giza Necropolis that includes the three prominent pyramids of Menkaura (Mycerimus), Khufu (Cheops), and Khafra (Chephren). The Great Pyramid of Giza also known as the Pyramid of Khufu or the Pyramid of Cheops is the oldest and largest of the three pyramids.


The Great Pyramids of Giza are situated west of the Nile River, near Cairo, Egypt, and are believed to have been built between 2300 B.C. and 2500 B.C. The Egyptian people believed that death was the beginning of a new journey. For this reason pyramids were constructed. It was not just a space to place dead body, it kept the capacity to hold multiple items that the Pharaohs would need in their next life.

The Great Pyramids is the only remaining of old Seven Wonders of the Ancient world. And it is believed that the Great Pyramid of Khufu was constructed as the burial place for Khufu by a Fourth Dynasty Egyptian Pharaoh. Spanning 13 acres, the Great Pyramid of Khufu is generally thought to be composed over two million stone blocks weighing an average of two tons. Although there are several theories, it is generally thought that the Egyptians moved the massive stones using log rollers and sledges. With the slope of the faces at approximately 51.5 degrees, the Great Pyramid of Khufu is 756 feet square and 481 feet tall. Completing the trio of pyramids is the pyramid of Khufu’s son Khafra and his grandson Menkaura.

The Great Pyramid of Giza contains three identified chambers. The King and Queen’s chambers are elevated above the lowest chamber. The lowest chamber is carved into the rock layer upon the base of the pyramid and was unfinished. The Great Pyramid of Giza is the sole Egyptian pyramid proven to have both upward and downward passageways. The major section of the Giza complex is a grouping of structures made up of two mortuary shrines in honor of Khufu.
The Pyramids of Menkaura, Khufu and Kafhre were not finished by the end of each Pharaoh’s term in power. This was a common occurrence in Egypt simply due to the time involved in constructing such massive structures. The Great Pyramids of Giza and the entire Giza Necropolis also known as the Giza Valley.

Travelers travel from different countries to visit this place. Millions of tourist comes to visit this place every year. If you thinking about to take a trip to this wonderful place call us toll free @877-247-7183 and our travel experts will be happy to help you. Also you can check our all deals and discounts at:

New 7 Wonders of The World

In the period of more than 125 years from the beginning of the 19th century, the creations of some of the world’s most remarkable adventures were identified. These are popularly known as great wonders of the world. These are the symbols of human creativity and the determination of the human spirit.


Ancient Seven Wonders: – In the beginning idea of Seven Wonders of the World occurred earlier during Herodotus (484 BC – 425 BC) and Callimachus (305 BC – 240 BC). According to their analysis, Seven Wonders of the World included
• The Great Pyramid of Giza
• Hanging Gardens of Babylon
• Statue of Zeus at Olympia
• Temple of Artemis at Ephesus
• Mausoleum of Maussollos at Halicarnassus
• Colossus of Rhodes
• Lighthouse of Alexandria

Among all of them, only the Great Pyramid of Giza still exists. The other six were ruined by earthquake, fire, or other causes.

New Seven Wonders: - The new seven Wonders Foundation claimed that more than 100 million votes were cast through the Internet or by telephone. This campaign was originated in 2000 by Swiss film producer, author and aviator Bernard Weber to choose the seven new wonders of the world through the global voting campaign. The organizers had said that the competition is not planned to replace the Ancient Seven Wonders, but to care for other historical landmarks and improve global cultural heritage awareness.

In the year 2001 a Swiss Corporation, New Open World Corporation started the process of selecting New Seven Wonders of the World. Finally on January 1, 2006 after studying and analyzing several criteria, it announced 21 finalists from nearly 200 nominations from around the world. One among them, The Great Pyramids of Giza in Egypt was designated as an honorary celebratory wonder. From the remaining 20, seven sites were selected by worldwide vote, through Internet and phone polling. Finally, on 07/07/07(July 07, 2007 a very special day) seven new wonders of the world were declared in a grand ceremony in Lisbon.

The final poll produced this list of the world’s top human-built wonders
• Great Pyramids of Giza in Egypt(Honorary Candidate)
• The Great Wall of China
• Petra in Jordan
• Brazil’s statue of Christ the Redeemer
• Peru’s Machu Picchu
• Mexico’s Chichen Itza pyramid
• The Colosseum in Rome
• India’s Taj Mahal

Online voting and SMS system were used for the first time to select New Seven Wonders of the World. In further section we are going to explain the history of all these Wonders one by one.