New 7 Wonders of the World – No.2 Petra in Jordan

Petra is situated in the Great Rift Valley of the Wadi Musa in Jordan and is one of the New Seven Wonders of the World. A UNESCO site, the ancient city is often referred to as “The Rose Colored City” in reference to the color of the rock. This is also called “The Lost City”, as it was lost to the Western world until it was rediscovered in 1812 by Swiss explorer Johann Ludwig Berckhardt. UNESCO describes Petra as One of the most precious cultural properties of man’s cultural heritage. With amazing history and ancient architecture Petra is very famous among travelers and millions of tourists come every year to visit.



Petra was designed by the Nabataean Arabs, Who carved beautiful structures and buildings into the mountains in Jordan. Serving as their capital, it was created back in the first century, during a time when the Nabatean Kingdom was flourishing. It is also known as the “Lost City” because it was only rediscovered by explorers in 1812. For hundreds of years, it was lost in the desert canyons of Jordan.

Inside Petra Jordan:-

Inside it you will find the mixture of artistic engineering, advancement of laser guide, levels and modern machinery. The most amazing is that most of the structures are carved, not built. Several main structures are larger than life with towering columns that will dwarf anyone standing next to them. Caves carved from sheer rock faces, a theater carved in stone and many more stone structures.

As you go closer look as you walk through the path leading to Petra reveals an elaborate water delivery system that brought water into the heart of Petra. The Romans added to the structure of Petra as it is evident from the columns and other Roman structures, however, in 363 A.D. a massive earthquake leveled most free standing structures but the original construction of Petra was unharmed as they were actually carved from the rock.

While in Jordan you can also see other places like Wadi Mujib, Dead Sea and the Gourge. Plan a trip to Jordan with Travelation and get huge discount on ticket booking. For more info call us toll free @877-247-7183.

New 7 Wonders of The World

In the period of more than 125 years from the beginning of the 19th century, the creations of some of the world’s most remarkable adventures were identified. These are popularly known as great wonders of the world. These are the symbols of human creativity and the determination of the human spirit.


Ancient Seven Wonders: – In the beginning idea of Seven Wonders of the World occurred earlier during Herodotus (484 BC – 425 BC) and Callimachus (305 BC – 240 BC). According to their analysis, Seven Wonders of the World included
• The Great Pyramid of Giza
• Hanging Gardens of Babylon
• Statue of Zeus at Olympia
• Temple of Artemis at Ephesus
• Mausoleum of Maussollos at Halicarnassus
• Colossus of Rhodes
• Lighthouse of Alexandria

Among all of them, only the Great Pyramid of Giza still exists. The other six were ruined by earthquake, fire, or other causes.

New Seven Wonders: - The new seven Wonders Foundation claimed that more than 100 million votes were cast through the Internet or by telephone. This campaign was originated in 2000 by Swiss film producer, author and aviator Bernard Weber to choose the seven new wonders of the world through the global voting campaign. The organizers had said that the competition is not planned to replace the Ancient Seven Wonders, but to care for other historical landmarks and improve global cultural heritage awareness.

In the year 2001 a Swiss Corporation, New Open World Corporation started the process of selecting New Seven Wonders of the World. Finally on January 1, 2006 after studying and analyzing several criteria, it announced 21 finalists from nearly 200 nominations from around the world. One among them, The Great Pyramids of Giza in Egypt was designated as an honorary celebratory wonder. From the remaining 20, seven sites were selected by worldwide vote, through Internet and phone polling. Finally, on 07/07/07(July 07, 2007 a very special day) seven new wonders of the world were declared in a grand ceremony in Lisbon.

The final poll produced this list of the world’s top human-built wonders
• Great Pyramids of Giza in Egypt(Honorary Candidate)
• The Great Wall of China
• Petra in Jordan
• Brazil’s statue of Christ the Redeemer
• Peru’s Machu Picchu
• Mexico’s Chichen Itza pyramid
• The Colosseum in Rome
• India’s Taj Mahal

Online voting and SMS system were used for the first time to select New Seven Wonders of the World. In further section we are going to explain the history of all these Wonders one by one.